A catch-up…

So I’ve been a terrible blogger and haven’t posted all month *looks appropriately guilty*.

banana milkshakeI don’t have that much of a reason, except that I seem to have been really busy for the last few weeks for some reason! I started a new job just over three weeks ago so it’s taken me some time to adjust to the new routine. You’ll be glad to know that I’ve continued taking my lunch in, making the majority of my food from scratch and keeping the grocery costs down. I have been incorporating more quick and easy meals but still ones I’ve made from scratch – e.g eating more oven-baked frittatas, stir-fries and meat-fish-or-halloumi-with-salad/veg meals. I’ve even been taking milkshakes with me in a water bottle when I’m too rushed for breakfast before I leave 🙂

It’s not just the new job though. I’ve also been really focused on fitness the last couple of weeks – specifically spending lots (for me) of time running. I’m still going to Crossfit too, but the reason I’ve been doing so much running is I’ve signed up to do the Great Scottish Run 10k at the start of October – eeek! I did my first Parkrun two Saturdays ago and was really happy to run pretty much the whole way and finish in 33 mins 57, so my next step is to get used to doing a bit more distance and also try to pick the speed up a bit.

Doing so much exercise has affected how I eat a bit – I want to take this opportunity to get as healthy as I can, so I’m trying to lower the amount of sugar and carbs I eat and make sure I’m hitting my daily requirements for protein too (always a challenge as you know I don’t eat masses of meat). So far I’ve made the surprisingly easy transition to having my lunch-time soup without bread pretty painlessly but hopefully I’ll also be spurred on to come up with some lovely new healthy recipes. I’ll be keeping things low cost though and don’t worry – I’m not cutting out bread, pasta or sweet things altogether, so they’ll still feature here from time-to-time 😉

Here’s a wee pic of my dinner tonight to keep you going until I get a recipe up. It’s a rainbow trout fillet simply pan-fried and dressed in butter and lemon juice, served with roasted veg, curly kale and I nabbed just a few homemade chips from Dave’s plate (yes, I got him to eat the fish too, even though he’s not the biggest fish fan – bribing with chips usually works tbh 😉 )trout veg and kale

Leave a Reply

