Chickpea and Squash Tagine

squash and chickpea tagine 2

You might notice the new blog design – I’ve been meaning to change it up for a while!  Hope you like it 🙂

I was first introduced to a squash & chickpea tagine by a friend, who made it for me for dinner one night using a simple but tasty recipe she’d found on BBC Good Food.  After she sent me a link to the recipe, I literally made it all the time for ages and ages, before for some inexplicable reason I stopped making it and kind of forgot about it.

Last week I remembered the recipe when I was pondering what to do with the chickpea hoard (seriously – I have three cans-worth in the freezer and one and a half kilos of the dried stuff in the cupboard) and I tried to look it up.  Imagine my outrage when I discovered that the BBC’s license for the recipe had expired!  This recipe is my attempt to recreate it from memory and I think it’s reasonably close.

The fresh coriander, while not really frugal, totally makes this dish by the way – try and use it if you can.  Growing your own is the best way to get fresh herbs cheap, but I’ve never had any luck with coriander for some reason – any tips welcome!

Chickpea and Squash Tagine, serves 4

  • 2 tbsp vegetable or olive oil
  • 2 medium onions, halved, peeled and sliced
  • 1 pepper (I used orange), diced
  • 3-4 cloves garlic, crushed
  • 1 small butternut squash (I used 3/4 of a larger one), peeled and cut into small chunks
  • Vegetable stock, to cover
  • 1/2 tsp – 1 tsp dried chilli flakes
  • 1/2 tsp caraway seeds
  • 1 tsp cumin
  • 1 tsp coriander
  • 1 tin chickpeas (I used dried ones I’d cooked from scratch)
  • Small handful dried apricots, finely sliced
  • Large handful fresh coriander

squash and chickpea tagineHeat the oil over a medium heat in a deep-sided frying pan.  Add the sliced onions and the pepper and gently fry for a few minutes, until tender.  Add the garlic and cook for a further minute.

Add the butternut squash and cover with vegetable stock (I used a cube), adding in all the spices.  Cook for 15-20 minutes, or until the squash is tender.  Add the chickpeas (drained if using canned) and dried apricots and cook for another few minutes, until everything is heated through, adding a little more water if the sauce starts to dry out.

Serve with rice or couscous, garnished with lots of chopped coriander.

2 thoughts on “Chickpea and Squash Tagine

Leave a Reply

