Lime drizzle cake

lime drizzle cake header

Decided to take a wee break from the “What I Ate Wednesday” post this week – mostly because I forgot to take a breakfast pic on Monday (it was a banana & summer fruit milkshake if you’re interested) then went out for lunch and again only got a quick and badly-lit snap before we got started wolfing it down.

Instead I have a nice wee cake recipe for you.  You know I don’t make cakes often because of the unhealthiness, but I was roasting some tofu in the oven (more on that tomorrow) instead of stir-frying it and felt like it was a bit of a waste to turn the oven on just for a wee bit of tofu… so you see, I HAD to make the cake to save on energy.  Ahem.

Drizzle cakes are possibly my favourite type of cake.   The usual lemon is always acceptable, but I’ve found mixing it up with lime or orange both works really well too and are a really easy way to make the cake sound fancier and more impressive.  Lime is my favourite but Dave prefers orange, even though it lacks the tang of the lemon or lime versions.  In fact he LOVES orange cake so much that that’s what we had as the middle tier of our wedding cake (iced with chocolate buttercream… the other tiers were a plain chocolate and a pistachio cake.  All made by my baking genius of a sister.  The memory even now makes me drool).

Anyway, lime drizzle cake is seriously tasty and sounds much more impressive than it is to make.  You can of course use lemon when following the recipe – you’ll only need one or one and a half, depending on size.  For orange cake, use one big orange or a couple of wee tangerine/satsuma type ones.  I daresay you could even make it with grapefruit if you’re the type of person who likes grapefruit (which, urgh, I am not).

lime drizzle

Lime drizzle cake (makes 10-12 slices)

  • 4 eggs, weighed in their shell (I used medium ones and got 254g)
  • Self-raising flour, same weight as eggs
  • Caster sugar, same weight as eggs + 85g kept separate (I used granulated this time because I was out of caster and got a good result so you can try that too)
  • Baking fat or butter, same weight as eggs (used own brand baking fat)
  • Zest and juice of 2 limes (or 1-2 lemons/oranges)

Well-grease a loaf tin and preheat the oven to 180C.  Cream the butter and sugar together (I used my fancy new KitchenAid mixer we got as a wedding present, but you can do it by hand too), then beat in the eggs.  Sift in the flour and then fold in gently, along with the zest.  Bake for 45-50 minutes until golden and a skewer inserted into the middle comes out clean (note – I burnt the one in the picture slightly.  You want to take it out just before it looks like that at the edges!).

While the cake is baking, mix the remaining 85g of sugar with the lime juice and set aside.  Once baked, keep the cake in the tin and stab all over with a skewer (I used a chopstick) and then slowly pour the drizzle topping all over, allowing it to soak into the cake.  Use all your willpower and let the cake cool in the tin before removing and slicing.  Freezes well if needed.

One thought on “Lime drizzle cake

  1. Pingback: Organising the freezer | Chilli, Sage and Lemon

Leave a Reply

