What I Ate Wednesday 16/04

What I Ate Wednesday is a blog link-up hosted over at Peas & Crayons, encouraging bloggers to post pictures of what they ate over a whole day.  Hopefully taking part will show you guys whether or not I stick to the mealplan and give a bit more insight into what I can eat on my budget.

9am – Breakfast

photo (10)

Just like last time, I had breakfast at work – porridge (rolled oats made in the microwave with a mix of semi-skimmed milk and water, a shake of cinnamon, 1/2 tsp brown sugar and a pinch of salt), topped with sliced banana.  You can see I made it less soup-like this time 😉

11.30am – Snack

photo (9)Normally I go for fruit, but today I had a couple of small carrots cut into sticks and dipped in a tablespoon of crunchy peanut butter.

 

1pm – Lunch

photo (8)

 

photo (7)

Lunch was cream of parsnip soup I made at the weekend (with parsnips, onion, vegetable stock from a cube, double cream, nutmeg and a little whole milk to top up the cream, as I didn’t have enough. Oh, and a little vegetable oil to fry the onion in) with some homemade brown bread.  Finished with a tub of tinned pineapple pieces (about a third of the tin).

7.45pm – Dinner

P1030439

Bit of a late dinner tonight – I went for a short run after work so was late getting started with cooking (first run in months, ahem).  We had a new recipe, right on mealplan: 

  • carrot and cashew nut cutlets (carrot, onion, garlic, yellow pepper, breadcrumbs, cashews, cumin, chilli powder, an egg and a little vegetable oil);
  • served with couscous flavoured with lemon juice, chopped coriander and sliced dried apricots;
  • salad leaves, spring onions and tomatoes dressed in olive oil and balsamic vinegar;
  • and finally an easy raita made by stirring mint sauce and finely sliced onion into natural yoghurt.

Full recipe for the nut cutlets to follow tomorrow – they were seriously good!

Leave a Reply

