What I Ate Wednesday

I was quite intrigued when I first came across the blog link-up What I Ate Wednesday, hosted over at Peas and Crayons, a few months back – I find it oddly fascinating to look at what other people eat, and it gives me new ideas for recipes too.

I decided to join in for the first time this week because maybe it’s a bit weird to spy on what other people eat without ever joining in? Plus I think looking at a whole day’s food rather than just sharing the recipes that work out well will help show exactly what I’m getting for my budget -whether it’s healthy, filling and tasty enough to make you think you can join in with the money saving.  Plus it holds me to account as to whether I actually stick to the mealplan 🙂

I chose to share my meals from Monday, to give me time to write up the post by today – if this works well I’ll try and share every Monday’s food so you can’t accuse me of cherry-picking days I was extra healthy. Of course that’s every day, honest 😉

So here goes – here’s What I Ate (on Monday):

9am – Breakfast

photo (3)

I ate breakfast at work today so it was cheap and tasty porridge with sliced banana, which I can’t be bothered to make at home for some reason. I do like my porridge pretty runny (although today’s was actually a good bit runnier than normal, should start measuring the liquid really), and make it with rolled oats, a pinch of salt, a shake of cinnamon, half a teaspoon of white sugar and a mix of semi-skimmed milk (that’s all they have at work – I much prefer whole milk) and water. Topped with a whole banana sliced thinly (thin slices are much nicer I find!).

11.15am – Snack

photo (2)

I always get a hungry around 11am or so and try and always take fruit otherwise I end up munching on the sweets and cakes that are always about in my work. Today I had a tub of grapes and half an apple, sliced. Oh and I drink a lot of water at work (and nothing else, I don’t like coffee or fizzy drinks and rarely bother with tea) so I haven’t photographed drinks cos that’d get boring.

1pm – Lunch

photo (1)

I have soup most often for lunch, but today I took leftover homemade vegetable pakora from the weekend.  To go with the pakora, I made a simple dip by mixing some mayo with a few drops of tabasco and served with a carrot & apple slaw dressed with olive oil, lemon juice and cumin.  I was worried it wouldn’t be enough when I packed it for some reason so added a few cubes of mature cheddar too – result was I was absolutely stuffed all afternoon!  But in a good way.

7.15pm – Dinner

photo

We ate dinner about 7.15, which is pretty standard for us.  To my husband’s slight dismay (he’s not a fish fan) it was pan-fried trout simply dressed in butter, olive oil and lemon juice, served with baby new potatoes, cauliflower, carrot and frozen green beans. Seriously delicious though not a cheap one as the fresh trout is expensive.  Trying to make up my mind whether I like frozen green beans or not as I’m not a big fan of most frozen veg – I got a bag to trial as the fresh ones I buy at Morrisons seem to go off really quickly now and it really annoys me.

So that’s what I ate on Monday – what about you?  

Leave a Reply

