Mealplan and Spending Update 26/11

mealplanning

I had a hectic weekend and decided to leave doing the shopping until Monday after work, which is why this is being posted a wee bit late. Plus I wasn’t that well and was extremely tired on Monday – didn’t sleep at all on Sunday night.

After a couple of weeks of having unexplained hives, rashes, itching and red skin, I went to the doctors today to be told I have cold urticaria. If you don’t want to click the link, it’s an allergic skin reaction triggered by the cold. Yes, that’s a thing. And yes, I live in Scotland.

Suffice to say I won’t be trying to save money on the heating bills this winter. In fact (and in contrast to my usual Scrooge-like ways when it comes to shopping), I’ve already ordered a pair of fluffy-lined leather gloves (I’ve never been able to wear the wool ones as I hate the feel of them) and have planned to fully stock up woolly socks and tights at the weekend.

This is a short spending update because we didn’t have much budget left and had loads of food in the freezer anyway.  It’s been a busy month and seems to be getting busier as we approach Christmas (I’m allowed to say that now it’s less than a month away!) so I’m trying to make meals as easy as possible right now.

Mealplan

Sun 24 – taken out for dinner by relatives

Mon 25 mac and cheese with broccoli (recycled from last week’s mealplan)

Tues 26 fish & veg pie

Wed 27 – homemade chicken kievs with mash and veg

Thurs 28 veg chilli with rice

Fri 29 – spag bol

Sat 30 – out for dinner

Spending Update (£170.70 / £175)

Fruit & veg £5.48
Bananas x5 62p
Fresh jalapeno chillies 140g £1.12
Four leaf salad £1.09
Red cabbage 64p
Cherry tomatoes £1
Rocha pears 7pk £1

Meat & fish £5.45
Whole chicken* £5.45

Dairy & eggs £6.24
Mature cheddar x2 £4
Savers feta 75p
Whole milk 4pints £1.49

Bread £1
Morning rolls 6pk x2 £1

General 58p
Passata 58p

Household £1.25
Savers kitchen towel £1.25
One thought on “Mealplan and Spending Update 26/11

  1. Claire

    I bought an expensive pair of leather gloves (expensive for me anyway, they were £15) from M&S…6 years later they are still going strong. So although expensive to buy, they have lasted much longer than any cheap counterparts i have found.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

