Sweetcorn salsa

sweetcorn salsa

This is a really simple and tasty side dish I came up with to go with my spicy chicken drumsticks on Sunday night.  I knew when I mixed the marinade (pretty much just what’s listed in the spicy chicken wings recipe but with more tabasco this time!) that they would be HOT, so I wanted to do something cooling to go alongside.

I think I saw a recipe for sweetcorn salsa on an American cooking blog but it has loads of stuff in it that Dave can’t eat – raw peppers, tomatoes and cucumber (all of which he’s allergic to uncooked).  So I just took the idea and made it as simple as I could – cooked sweetcorn (you could use tinned if you want to make it really easy), onion and lime.  I used both normal onion and spring onions, because I had them in, but you could use red or whatever you have.

I think this works really well with the spicy chicken but it’d also be nice as a cheap side dish for a barbecue (not that we’ll be having any of those for a while!), with burgers or maybe even in burritos with cooked meat or beans.  If you want, you can add in diced peppers or tomatoes as well, though to be honest I liked its simplicity.

Sweetcorn salsa (serves 2 as a side dish)

  • 160g frozen or tinned sweetcorn
  • 1/2 small onion, finely sliced
  • 2 spring onions, finely sliced
  • juice of 1/2 lime
  • Dash of vegetable or olive oil

If using frozen sweetcorn, add to a pan of lightly salted boiling water and cook for a few minutes until done.  Drain and rinse under cold water to cool.

Add the chopped onion and spring onion, lime juice and a dash of oil.  Season and mix well.

One thought on “Sweetcorn salsa

  1. Pingback: Creamy Sweetcorn And Green Pepper Soup | RecipeReminiscing

Leave a Reply

