Chickpea and Tomato Soup

chickpea soup

I’ve been very busy the last few weeks and the blogging has definitely been suffering – with only four months to go until the wedding there’s more planning needing done, I’ve had lots of plans with friends and family, and I’ve even started my Christmas shopping.  I’ll try and get posts back to a bit more of a regular schedule, but for now, here’s an easy and tasty chickpea soup recipe.

It’s a good chunky soup so you could have smaller bowls for lunch or bigger portions for dinner.  I split into four portions but they are a bit bigger than my usual lunchtime bowls so you could probably get five out of the recipe if you wanted.  Either way, it’s not an expensive recipe and is really healthy and tasty.

Feel free to mix up the veg a bit – I just used what I had in.  I only chucked the mushrooms in because they were going off, but I actually really like them in it – peppers, courgettes or greens would all work well too though.

chickpea soup 2

Chickpea and tomato soup (serves 4-5)

  • 1 can chickpeas (I used dried ones, previously cooked and frozen)
  • 1 can chopped or plum tomatoes
  • 2 onions, peeled and chopped
  • 2 carrots, peeled and chopped
  • 1/4 of a 250g pack mushrooms, finely sliced
  • Large pinch saffron
  • 1-2tsp smoked paprika
  • 1/2 tbsp vegetable or olive oil
  • Vegetable stock

Heat the oil in a large pan and cook the onions and carrots for a few minutes, until the onions are softened.  Add the mushrooms and cook for another couple of minutes, until wilted down.

Add all of the other ingredients except the chickpeas and cover well with the vegetable stock.  Simmer away for about 30-4o minutes, until the carrots are tender, add the chickpeas and coom for a few minutes until everything is warmed through.  Season well and serve with bread.

2 thoughts on “Chickpea and Tomato Soup

    1. Jess Post author

      Hi, for some reason your comment got stuck in the spam filter but I rescued it 🙂 thanks, I was just after something different and it made a very cheap soup feel more expensive and fancy x

      Reply

Leave a Reply

