Lovely white bean goulash

bean goulash

Yes, I still have loads of cooked beans in my freezer.  The problem I’m having is that Morrisons only seems to sell chickpeas and white beans (cannellini, butter and haricot) and I’m getting a bit fed up with white beans.  I want some variety – pinto, black-eyed and black beans are particularly on my mind right now.

I’ve checked and my local Waitrose sells these for the same price as Tesco (which I’ll not be shopping at while I still have a valid Asda delivery saver) so I’ll definitely pop in there to get a couple of bags of beans to cook up.  In the meantime, how to use up white beans?

This recipe is based on one from Rose Elliot’s Complete Vegetarian, which I pretty much opened at random to find a recipe.  It’s a good cookbook – if a little overwhelming as it’s got so many recipes and no pictures – and the recipe was really good, especially given how simple it is to make.  The only adjustments I made were to half everything except the paprika and add in some cayenne pepper, because I wanted to spice it up.  I was surprised at how much Dave liked it, but he really did.

Oh and I served this with mash, because I was so in a mash mood, but rice would be the more usual accompaniment, or even crusty bread.

bean goulash header

White bean goulash (serves 2 at 72p per portion, plus extra for potatoes/rice)

  • 1 can of white beans* (I used previously cooked and defrosted dried butter beans that I’d frozen in can-weight bags) 20p
  • 1 can chopped tomatoes 31p
  • 1 onion, sliced into half-moons 10p
  • 1 pepper (I used green), sliced 30p
  • 1 tablespoon vegetable oil 1p
  • 2 tablespoons tomato purée 8p
  • 2 cloves garlic, crushed 6p
  • 2 tsp paprika 4p
  • 1 tsp cayenne pepper 2p
  • 1 tsp sugar (or to taste) (less than 1p)
  • 1/2 small tub soured cream, or equivalent amount natural yoghurt 30p

If your beans are dried and uncooked, soak and cook them as per packet instructions or in your pressure cooker (you’ll need roughly 100g), but I’d recommend doing the whole packet at once and freezing in can sized portions instead. 

Heat the oil in a deep-sided saucepan and gently fry the onion and pepper slices for a few minutes, until soft.  Add the garlic and cook for a further minute.

bean goulash 4

Mix in the chopped tomatoes, tomato purée and spices and leave to cook for ten minutes or so, until everything is well combined.  Taste and add the sugar if required, along with salt and pepper to taste.  Add the beans and leave to heat through.

Serve with rice or potatoes (baked potatoes would work well too, actually), and topped with the soured cream or yoghurt.

2 thoughts on “Lovely white bean goulash

Leave a Reply

