Homemade fish fingers

fish fingers

I don’t know why I’ve developed a slight obsession with breaded foods of late, but I managed to have both kievs and fish fingers this week.  But don’t worry – I haven’t decided to start eating nasty processed foods!  I’m happy to report that both meals were completely homemade.

I’ve never made fish fingers before (in fact I’ve never bought them either as even as a child I thought they were gross) but they were pretty straightforward.  I was inspired by a cookbook I got for my birthday – BBC Goodfood’s Budget dishes – though I managed to mix it up just a little in the seasoning and by cutting the fingers smaller.  Erm – I actually forgot to allow for them shrinking so they ended up a bit like fish ‘nuggets’ instead.  Oh well, cute AND tasty?  What’s not to like?!

Oh, I defrosted the fish and made these up the day before so I’d have a stress-free dinner the next night (was going swimming after work) and they were fine – any longer ahead you’d want to freeze them though (obviously only if the fish wasn’t previously frozen).

In case you’re wondering, I just used the value frozen fish from Morrisons, but you can use any white fish you have.

IMG_0990

Fish fingers (35p per portion for the fingers, 63p for the whole meal)

  • 2 small fish fillets, cut into 3-4 pieces each, 48p
  • 1 egg, beaten, 16p
  • couple large handfuls breadcrumbs (free from freezer)
  • 1 tsp thyme 2p
  • few tablespoons plain flour 2p
  • 1 tbsp vegetable oil 2p

Preheat the oven to 200C.  Get three saucers out and put the flour in the first one, the beaten egg in the second and the breadcrumbs in the third.  Season the breadcrumbs well with black pepper and mix in the thyme,

Dip each piece of fish, one by one, into the flour and coat thoroughly.  Shake off and then dip into the egg until coated.  Finally, coat in the breadcrumbs.  Set aside and repeat for all pieces of fish.

Arrange fish fingers on a baking tray and lightly brush each fish finger with oil.  Bake for 15 minutes, turning mid-way, or until golden brown.

35p per portion for the fish fingers ans I served with a large handful frozen chips (12p), 80g frozen peas (8p) and 1/4 tin sweetcorn (8p).  A frugal classic and I’m happy to say it’s super-cheap even when homemade at only 63p per portion for the meal (though I’ve no idea how this compares to bought fish fingers to be honest).

One thought on “Homemade fish fingers

  1. Pingback: Mealplan and Spending Update 22/08 | Chilli, Sage and Lemon

Leave a Reply

