How to use up a glut of apples

apple salad

Why apples, you ask? Well, we have a big bag at my office, left over from an event, and so I’d taken a bunch of them home (along with a few bananas – but there weren’t as many of these).

As we were having a ‘shared lunch’ today to welcome a new staff member, it seemed like a perfect to chance to come up with some creative ‘apple-based’ recipes.

Crumble is just the obvious choice for me when faced with leftover apples so I decided to make a big one to serve with custard.  Of course, you totally need something vaguely healthy to offset the crumble, so I also made a Waldorf salad type thing (I made it lighter then normal by dressing with oil and lemon juice rather then mayo).

I used eating apples, as that’s what I had, but I do prefer crumbles made with cooking apples – it’s so much tarter and tastier. Though if you do go down that road, I’d double the sugar.

The shared lunch was delicious and my colleagues all contributed some lovely things – a tasty ham and spinach tart and the big bowl of tuna pasta being favourites of mine,  My salad and (especially!) the crumble went down really well too, so I’ve added the recipes below (oh and I realise the crumble pic isn’t great, but I had like half a second to grab a pic as my colleague was digging in to it!):

apple crumble

Apple crumble (serves around 6 as a normal dessert or lots of small portions as part of a buffet)

  • 6 apples (I used small eating apples) or however many you need to fill your dish
  • 2-3 tsp sugar (double if using cooking apples)
  • 1 tsp ground cinnamon
  • Juice of 1/4 lemon

For the crumble topping:

  • 200g plain flour
  • 100g butter, cut into cubes
  • 50g sugar

Peel the apples, core and chop into slices. Pile into an appropriately sized casserole dish, sprinkle with the lemon juice, and toss through with the sugar and cinnamon (the lemon juice helps stop the apples from browning).

In a separate bowl, weigh the flour and add the butter cubes.  Rub in until the mixture resembles fine breadcrumbs, stir in the sugar and mix well.

Top the apple mix with the crumble mix and pack down lightly.  You can bake straight away in an oven preheated to 200C, or else store it until ready to cook – I made mine a day in advance.  Either way, bake for around 40 minutes or until the apples are cooked and the crumble has turned golden.  Serve with icecream or custard.

apple salad

Healthier ‘Waldorf’ Salad

  • 1 apple, cut into thin chunks
  • small handful walnuts, chopped finely
  • small handful sunflower seeds (optional)
  • 1 bag watercress
  • 1 small bag rocket (or use whatever salad leaves you want)
  • 2 spring onions, finely chopped
  • 1 stick celery, finely chopped
  • 2-3 tbsp extra virgin olive oil
  • Juice of 1/2 lemon

As usual for a salad – quite simple really!  Mix everything together and season as desired.  This makes a really big bowl of tasty salad and you can vary the ingredients as needed.  Variation – to make a ‘real’ Waldorf salad, dress with mayonnaise flavoured with a little lemon juice and mustard.

So seven apples down – result!  Plus super cheap and tasty contributions to a shared lunch – so I’d label these recipes a success.

Leave a Reply

