Summer Barbecue Recipes – Tomato and Cucumber Salad

This is part of a semi-regular series about making tasty, healthy and exciting recipes for the barbecue – on a budget.  The series will included lots of salads and sides, as well as meat and veggie recipes to get you cooking and eating some lovely outdoor food this summer.

summer barbecue header thin

Salads are the most neglected dishes at barbecues.  It just lacks the appeal and drama of big piles of meat charred over the coals.  Plus, I suppose you can eat salad any time, while you don’t get many opportunities to eat barbecued meat in sunny Scotland.

I don’t care what everyone else thinks though – I love salads and half the time think they’re the best bit at the barbecue.  If they’re done right, that is.  A bowl of limp, warm Iceburg lettuce is not an example of a great salad.

The salad/salsa below is what my stepdad used to serve with fajitas when we were growing up, and it’s definitely one of my favourite salads.  I don’t get to eat it often enough (Dave’s allergic to uncooked tomato and cucumber, so I call this ‘death salad’ to him), but I try and make it for potluck dinners and shared lunches at work whenever I can.  It’s full of flavour and hopefully will tempt everyone at the barbecue to at least get a spoonful of veg with their meat.

Oh, I haven’t included quantities here – I only make it for big groups of people, so just fill a bowl up.  I just try and keep equal quantities of tomato, cucumber and onion.

charcoal challenge 13

Tomato, Cucumber and Coriander Salad

  • Tomatoes, chopped
  • Cucumber, chopped
  • Onion, chopped
  • Big handful fresh coriander, chopped
  • Juice of a lemon
  • Juice of a lime

I don’t really need to give you instructions for a salad, do I?  Mix all the chopped ingredients together, dress with the lemon and lime (you can add a bit of oil if you want, but I often don’t bother) and season well.  Enjoy with anything, but especially in fajitas or as a side dish at a barbecue.

2 thoughts on “Summer Barbecue Recipes – Tomato and Cucumber Salad

  1. Pingback: What To Bring To A Potluck Dinner | jovinacooksitalian

  2. Pingback: Neil Perry’s Barbecued Barramundi | Izzy's Lifestyle Blog

Leave a Reply

