Easy butter bean and tomato pasta

We were supposed to be having a butter bean bake last week, but it ended up just me for dinner and I couldn’t be bothered to make it just for me.  I didn’t want to waste the butter beans that I’d defrosted, so I had to think of something easy and quick to do with them.

It’s a bit unimaginative but when I’m in a rush and cooking just for me, I always end up making pasta.  Actually I just have a soft spot for pasta (well, all carbs really) and I know I can chuck anything in with it and it’ll all end up tasting great.

This time I kept it really simple and just tossed the pasta and butter beans with olive oil and dried crushed chillies.  Well, I also added a couple of fresh tomatoes, chopped up, and some peas cooked in with the pasta to veg it up a bit.

It was a really nice, simple and quite comforting dish – not exactly something you’d serve to guests but perfect for when you’re on your own and just want a pile of carbs.  Oh, it makes a pretty generous portion (just the mood I was in really, and I’d not eaten much all day) so you can reduce the butter beans and pasta a bit if you’ve not got such a big appetite.

butter bean pasta

Serves one at 76p

  • 1/2 tin butter beans (I used previously soaked & cooked dried beans, frozen in can-sized quantities for ease) 11p
  • 100g spaghetti 4p
  • 80g frozen peas 8p
  • 2 fresh tomatoes, chopped 34p
  • 1/2 – 1tsp dried crushed chilli, to taste (or use a fresh one and fry it in the oil for a couple of minutes first) 1p
  • 10g parmesan or similar, finely grated 13p
  • 1 tbsp olive oil 5p

Put the spaghetti on to boil in lightly salted water, as per packet directions (10-12 minutes or so, depending how well done you like it).  When it’s a couple of minutes away from being ready, add the frozen peas.  Drain once cooked.

Return the drained and still hot pasta and peas to the pan, add the cooked beans (if using tinned ones, drain and rinse first), chopped tomato, olive oil and dried chilli to taste.  Mix in well, allowing the hot pasta and pan to take the edge off the cold beans and tomato, then serve in a bowl.  Top with the parmesan.

Leave a Reply

