Chorizo and Sun-Dried Tomato Risotto

chorizo risotto 2

Yes, I just recently posted a risotto recipe – but it is pretty much my favourite food and I’d like to eat it a lot more than I do!  Since Dave doesn’t like it, I usually have to eat it alone, but he agreed to try it again if I made it meaty to compensate, so I decided to go for the lovely and intense flavours of chorizo and sundried tomato.

This is a risotto that my mum used to make all the time (she used it to stuff peppers) when I was growing up, though I didn’t ask her for her recipe so I’m not sure how similar it is.  It’s a really salty dish and I tried to reduce the salt by using pretty much unsalted homemade stock (from my duck at the weekend actually – was delicious) and removing the chorizo after frying and adding back in at the end.

It was actually still quite salty (at least for my palate, but Dave thought it was fine), partly because I misjudged how cooked it was and added the chorizo back in way too soon.  I served with a green salad and I do think it was necessary to cut through the salt and fat of the risotto.  If you don’t want to serve with a salad, I’d at least add some peas or spinach near the end of cooking to up the veg content.  Best of all, spooning into pepper halves and baking in the oven works really well at both cutting through the salt and adding some more veg.

Oh and I normally finish risottos by stirring butter through at the end along with the cheese, but this risotto felt fatty enough without it, so I didn’t bother and happy to report that it didn’t seem to affect it at all.

chorizo risotto header

 

Serves two (£1.03 per portion, not including salad)

  • 1/2 pack chorizo, cut into half rounds (around 100g) £1.20
  • 175g risotto rice (2/3 mug is how I measure normally) 34p
  • 1 small onion, chopped (free from friend’s garden, but 3p if from a value pack)*
  • 30g sundried tomatoes halves, soaked and cut into thin strips (this was 6 tomato halves) (free as a gift, but about 30p if the same big bulk tub is bought online)*
  • 25g parmesan or similar, grated 20p
  • Chicken or vegetable stock (I actually used homemade duck stock, free)*

Heat a deep frying pan over a medium heat and add the chorizo (you don’t need oil).  Allow to cook for a few minutes, stirring, until warmed through, starting to crisp on the edges and the pan is coated in orange oil.

Remove the chorizo from the pan and set aside.  Return the pan, with the oil still in it, to the heat and add the onions, frying them off in the chorizo oil for a few minutes until soft.  Meanwhile, heat some stock in a saucepan (I ended up using about 6-7 ladlefuls or so, if it helps – all the stock I had plus water at the end when I ran out of stock).

Add the risotto rice to the onions, stir well to coat in the oil, then cook for a further minute or two, until the grains are turning translucent.  Add a ladleful of stock and stir in.

Continue to add stock and stir as the rice cooks – around 22-25 minutes or so.  A few minutes before the end, add the chorizo and slice sundried tomatoes.

When the rice is creamy and cooked but still with a little bite to it, remove from the heat, add the parmesan (I reserved a tiny bit to sprinkle on top) and beat hard with the wooden spoon until everything is incorporated and well combined.  Season and serve with a side salad, or stuff into pepper halves and bake in the oven until tender.

*PS Just realised this was a really good value meal for us, since it used stock (made from bones that would be binned otherwise) and onion and sun-dried tomatoes that were given to us.  Oh, and in case you’re wondering about Dave’s verdict – he says this is now his risotto of choice BUT he’s still not a big fan.  But willing to try it every so often – so, PROGRESS.

2 thoughts on “Chorizo and Sun-Dried Tomato Risotto

  1. colourfulandculinary

    ❤ this is my all-time favourite risotto. I cut down on the salt by replacing some of the stock with white wine. I also use shop bought stock but I would use around a fifth of a Knorr stock pot, or about a quarter/half of a stock cube, to however much water I need. It still is salty with the chorizo but I find that helps cut it down a lot! 🙂

    Reply
    1. Jess Post author

      Good ideas! I really thought the homemade stock would help but I must have salted it more than I thought when I made it – still very tasty though!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

