Spiced lentil & sweet potato wraps

20130730-224552.jpg

I had two sweet potatoes in the fridge that I’d bought last week to roast and never got round to using, so I wanted to think of something to do with them.

I had a warm lentil and sweet potato salad (there’s a nice looking one on BBC Good Food) in my mind but there’s really only one reaction you can expect from Dave if you suggest a lentil salad from dinner – actually I never have suggested it because I know exactly what he’d say!

I googled lentil and sweet potato recipes for a bit of inspiration and was intrigued by an Ethiopian curry recipe, mildly spiced with allspice, paprika, ginger, cumin and cinnamon, but I didn’t want a big heavy curry, so I decided a bit of a ‘mix and match’ approach was in order.

First I roasted some sweet potatoes and red pepper, while cooking the lentils with mushrooms, garlic, ginger and spices. I served the lentils and sweet potatoes with a side of iceberg lettuce (left from the barbecue) and wraps – basically I got my salad but because it was deconstructed and served in wraps, Dave was happy too.
I also had some salsa and tzaziki left from the barbecue so had some with my wraps (but I had the leftovers for lunch without this and found I actually preferred it without salsa).

Spiced Lentil & Roasted Sweet Potato Wraps (serves 3)

100g brown or green-brown/Puy lentils
175g mushrooms, very finely sliced
1 1/2 tbsp vegetable oil
2 cloves garlic, crushed
Thumb sized piece of ginger, grated
1/2 large sweet potato, cut into small cubes
1 red pepper, cut into medium pieces
2tsp paprika
2tsp ground cumin
1tsp allspice
1tsp cinnamon
2tsp red wine vinegar

Preheat the oven to 200C. Toss the sweet potato and red pepper in around a tablespoonful of oil, season and roast for around 25 minutes until tender but not mushy.

Meanwhile, heat the rest of the oil in a pan and cook the mushrooms until wilted down and cooked through. Add the garlic and ginger, cook for another couple of minutes then add the lentils and well cover with water. Add the spices and vinegar.

Cook for around 20-25 minutes, or until the lentils are tender, taste and season.
Add the roasted vegetables and allow to cook in for a few minutes, then serve with wraps and salad.

20130730-224628.jpg

2 thoughts on “Spiced lentil & sweet potato wraps

Leave a Reply

