Simple tapas

tapas 3

I fancied tapas last week, but we’ve been out for dinner so much lately I didn’t exactly want to go out.  Clearly the only solution was to attempt to make my own.

There’s lots of things I could have made, but I wanted to keep it veggie, which ruled some of them out.  After a bit of thought, I decided on a spicy, garlicky chickpea dish, patatas bravas and an artichoke salad, with some marinaded olives on the side.  I didn’t have any nice bread in, but I’d really recommend serving with some, especially if you have big appetites.

I kept everything quite simple, especially the patatas bravas – instead of making a spicy tomato sauce to top, I just tossed the fried potatoes in paprika before topping with soured cream.  This worked so well.  I’ve made proper potatas bravas before, and Dave said this was the best I’ve ever made, so I’m sharing my easy recipe below.

As for portions – I split the chickpea dish in half and had the rest for lunch the next day (I deliberately made too much), but we ate everything else.

tapas header

Marinaded Olives

  • 45-50g olives (mine were green stuffed with pimiento)
  • 1 tbsp extra virgin olive oil
  • juice of 1/4 lemon

Mix the ingredients together and season well.  Leave to marinade for a couple of hours, or until needed – the longer the better.  I only had time to do mine for around 45 minutes so they weren’t as strongly flavoured.

Easy Patatas Bravas

  • 300g potatoes, cut into medium-sized chunks
  • 2 tbsp vegetable oil
  • 1 tsp paprika
  • 150ml soured cream

Boil the potato chunks in salted water until tender.  Drain and leave for a minute or two for the excess moisture to steam off.

Heat the oil in a frying pan over a medium heat.  Add the drained potatoes and fry, turning, for several minutes, until golden and crisp on all sides.

Remove from the heat, toss the paprika through and serve with the soured cream on top.

Spicy Spanish Chickpeas

  • 1 cans-worth cooked chickpeas (mine were dried and cooked previously)
  • 4 cloves garlic, crushed
  • 2 tsp smoked paprika
  • 1 tsp cayenne pepper
  • 1 small onion, chopped
  • 1 pepper, chopped
  • 1 tbsp olive oil
  • 1/2 tbsp red wine vinegar
  • 1-2 tsp sugar, to taste
  • 1 tbsp tomato puree

Heat the oil in a deep-sided frying pan and gently cook the onion and peppers until softened.  Add the garlic and cook for another minutes or two.

Add just a dash of water, the chickpeas, puree, vinegar and spices, stir well to combine and cook for around 15 minutes, until everything is cooked through, stirring occasionally and topping up the water as needed.  Taste and add sugar, salt and pepper to taste.

tapas 2

Artichoke salad

  • 1/3-1/2 bag salad leaves
  • 50g artichoke hearts (4 pieces for me), cut into smaller pieces
  • 2 sundried tomato pieces, cut into small strips
  • juice of 1/4 lemon
  • 1 tbsp oil from the tomato or artichoke jar

You don’t really need instructions for this, but mix the lemon juice and oil together and season to make the dressing.  Toss all the ingredients together and serve straight away.

2 thoughts on “Simple tapas

  1. Liz B

    Great ideas, you have inspired me to make a tapas style lunch today for family. I must try the potato dish, sounds lovely.

    Reply
    1. Jess Post author

      Awww hope your tapas dish went well! Sorry about the delay in responding, your comment got lost in the spam filter 😦

      Reply

Leave a Reply

