Toad in the hole

toad in the hole 5

As part of my quest to make sausages go farther, I decided to make a frugal classic – toad in the hole.  I’ve actually never made this before (because I was a vegetarian most of my adult life to date) but I remember my mum making it when I was a kid, and I definitely liked it then.  I mean, what’s not to like about sausages and Yorkshire puddings?  Let’s just say, it was even better than I remembered – totally worth making.

When I was at Morrison’s getting this week’s shopping, they had an offer on their sausages – 2 packs for £5.  I got one of the normal outdoor bred ones (the chunky ones that come in packs of 6) and a pack of 12 outdoor bred chipolatas – which was a good call as I wanted to make individual toads and the chipolatas were just perfect for this (I ended up freezing the other sausages and the unused chipolatas).

The one thing I’d change is that I put the batter in first and then the sausages, because I’d read that it made for crispier toads, but a couple of the sausages pinged off when the batter rose (and had to be rescued from the oven bottom) so I’d maybe put the sausages in first next time to prevent this.

toad in the hole labelled

83p per portion or £1.16 including potatoes and veg

  • 6 chipolatas £1.25
  • 40g plain flour 2p
  • 1 egg 23p
  • 50ml milk 3p
  • 2 tablespoons vegetable oil 4p

For the onion gravy

  • 1 small onion, chopped 3p
  • 1/2 tbsp plain flour (less than 1p)
  • 200ml beef stock 5p
  • 1/2 tsp wholegrain mustard 2p

Your choice of vegetables, potatoes and/or bread.

Preheat the oven as high as it’ll go (mine goes to 240C).  Heat a frying pan to medium heat and brush very lightly with a little of the vegetable oil.  Prick the chipolatas with a fork and fry for a few minutes, until browned on all sides

In a bowl, mix the egg, flour and milk together (I whizzed briefly with my electric whisk) and leave to rest until needed.

Divide the vegetable oil between two holes in a Yorkshire pudding tin, or four in a muffin tin if that’s all you’ve got (it’ll cook for less time if you use a muffin tin, and you’ll need to cut the chipolatas up to get them to fit).  Put into the oven to heat up for a few minutes.  (At this point, I put my potatoes on to boil.)  

toad in the hole 2

Once the oil in the Yorkshire pudding tin heats up, remove from the oven and quickly arrange the chipolatas in the holes.  Pour half the batter into each hole, around the sausages.  Put back in the oven and cook for around 20 minutes, until puffed up and browned on top.

Meanwhile, put any veg on to cook at the appropriate time.  Return the pan the sausages cooked in to the heat, and allow the fat to get hot.  Add the onion and cook until tender and starting to brown, but not burnt.  Remove from the heat and stir in the flour, adding a drop more oil if there isn’t enough fat to make a good paste.

Very slowly pour in the hot beef stock, stirring well (the onion means you can’t strain, so be careful to avoid lumps.  If you’re worried, take the onion out before adding the flour, the re-add later, but I was too lazy to do that).  Return to the heat and cook for several minutes, until thickened.  Stir in the mustard and season to taste.

Serve with toads with the gravy and your veg of choice.  I served with 3 carrots, cut into batons (23p), 400g small potatoes (32p) and 100g frozen peas (10p).

toad in the hole 4

 

So what’s your favourite way to serve sausages?  Do you have any childhood classics you’ve recreated recently?  And mostly importantly, do you like my new header for the recipe? (Very proud of myself for working it out, can you tell?!).

One thought on “Toad in the hole

  1. Pingback: Mealplan and Spending Update 11/08 | Chilli, Sage and Lemon

Leave a Reply

