Tomato & goats cheese tart

tomato tart

This is a really easy, summery meal you can make for either lunch or dinner – it’d also make a great picnic food if sliced up and eaten cold.  We weren’t that hungry the night we had this, so just had a big side salad with it, but if you’ve got more of an appetite, I’d serve with some crusty bread or even some spicy wedges on the side.

It’s nice warm but I had the leftovers for lunch the next two days (with carrot sticks instead of salad) and it was actually even better cold.  So I’d just go for that unless I was in a rush to eat it straight out of the oven.

I got the recipe originally from Delia’s Vegetarian Collection, a cookbook that I love and would recommend for any time you have guests and want to make something very tasty.  I didn’t make too many changes to the recipe, except for using homemade rough puff pastry and skipping the olive oil drizzled over the top.  I’d like to say this was for healthiness, but I actually just forgot – however the result as nice as all the other times I’ve made it, so I won’t bother with the oil in future.

tomato tart 3

I also bought normal goats cheese instead of soft, because I ordered online and sometimes it’s hard to be sure you have the right thing.  It worked but was harder to spread, so go for soft if you can get it.

Tomato and goats cheese tart (serves four) 65p per portion

  • 5 medium tomatoes, thinly sliced 84p
  • 120g soft goats cheese, or normal if that’s all you have £1.28
  • 350g-375g puff pastry, (mine was homemade) 39p
  • 1 tsp dried thyme, or use fresh if you have it growing 3p
  • 2 cloves garlic, peeled and crushed 6p

Preheat your oven to 200C.  Mix the garlic, thyme and goats cheese, mashing the cheese well with a fork if it’s not the soft kind.  Season with salt and pepper to taste.

Roll the pastry out to a rectangle just a tiny bit bigger than your baking tray (I just used a standard rectangular shallow tray that you’d cook chips or whatever on), so that when you transfer to the baking tray, some goes up the sides and an edge is created (hopefully you get what I mean from the pictures!)

tomato tart 2

Spread the goats cheese evenly on the pastry up the way the edges go up.  Arrange the tomatoes in overlapping layers all the down the tart, until it’s all covered.  I found I needed the five, but you might need more or less depending on the shape and size of your baking tray.

Bake for around 45 minutes, or until it’s all cooked and the pastry has risen and turned golden brown at the edges.  Serve with a big side salad and maybe some crusty bread.

£2.60 for the tart or 65p per portion.  Probably cost about 30p each for the salad, so under £1 per head, or not far over even if you do wedges or bread.

Leave a Reply

