Individual baked syrup sponge puddings

syrup puds

It’s not often I make dessert, but we had Dave’s mum come to stay at the start of this week, so I wanted to make something nice to follow dinner on Sunday.

I know she’s a fan of traditional ‘puddingy’ desserts and isn’t too keen on chocolatey puds, so was on the hunt for something that fit those parameters, that I could mostly make with what we had in, and that wasn’t too difficult or faffy to make, since I’d be making it after a busy day in the kitchen.

The idea of a syrup sponge pudding really appealed, but I had no desire to make something I had to steam for a few hours. Luckily, a quick google search turned up loads of recipes for baked puddings, which confirming that they all seemed to bake easily in around 30 minutes, and I decided to make a plain sponge mix to top the golden syrup with.  You can add all sorts of extras – lemon zest, fancier sugars – but I wanted to keep the puddings simple.

syrup puds 2

Everyone loved them!  They’re so sweet that I couldn’t finish mine, but I still enjoyed it.  We served with icecream, but I think custard would have been better, so I’ll try that next time.  I’m already thinking about variations – you could probably top with jam or lemon curd rather than syrup, or use honey for a more sophisticated taste.

Individual baked syrup sponge puddings (serves 4) 33p each

  • 2 eggs 47p (6 medium free range eggs £1.39, Morrisons)
  • 100g butter, at room temperature and cubed 40p (99p / 250g, Morrisons)
  • 100g caster sugar 15p (£1.49 / 1kg, Asda)
  • 100g self-raising flour 3p (45p / 1.5kg, Asda)
  • 4 tablespoons golden syrup 24p (£1.06 / 454g, Asda)

You need four oven-safe ramekins to make this.  Preheat the oven to 180, then dollop a tablespoon of golden syrup into each ramekin.

In a large mixing bowl, cream the butter and sugar (I used an electric whisk, but you can use a wooden spoon, just make sure it’s well combined into a fluffy pale yellow mass before moving on).

sponge puds 3

Add the eggs, one at a time, beating well after each one.  Sift the flour in and gently fold in, until combined.

Spoon the sponge mix over the syrup and smooth the top.  Bake for 30 minutes until risen and golden.

Tip out of the ramekins and serve upside down, with the syrup-y bit on top, and lots of custard or ice-cream.

Leave a Reply

