Chicken and broccoli lasagne

chicken lasagne

I know this meal sounds a bit strange!  It was created out of the desire to use up what we have in.  As I mentioned on Sunday, I had to keep things tight this week to stick to the budget, so I ‘shopped’ from the freezer and cupboards before I actually went to Morrisons.

We had a chicken carcass in the freezer, which I simmered until the meat was cooked, picked it all off, and made stock with the bones and the cooking water (if you want to hear about homemade stock, I’m writing about it tomorrow by the way).  It’s always a challenge trying to think up new ways to use all the cooked shredded chicken I end up with from stock-making, and chicken lasagne was a new effort for me.  I won’t keep you in suspense – it was absolutely delicious!

chicken lasagne 4

You could substitute other veg for half or all of the broccoli (mushrooms and/or spinach would work well), and definitely served with a sharply-dressed side salad to cut through the extreme richness of the lasagne.  Next time I might cut the amount of cheddar slightly, though Dave thought it was perfect.

I can’t remember if I’ve mentioned before – but if you’re wondering how to make lasagne for two, I use my loaf tin, which is the perfect size.

chicken lasagne 3

Chicken and broccoli lasagne (serves 2)

  • 175g cooked, shredded chicken
  • 350g stalk of broccoli, chopped (or use half broccoli, half another veg like mushrooms)
  • 25g cornflour
  • 25g butter
  • 300ml milk
  • 1/2tsp mustard
  • Dash paprika
  • About 1/3 pack lasagne sheets (depends on shape/size of your casserole dish and how many layers you make)
  • 100g cheddar, grated
chicken lasagne ingredients

I didn’t use the grana padano in the end…

Preheat the oven to 200C.  Put the broccoli on to boil in salted water for a few minutes until slightly al-dente – don’t overcook, or it’ll go mushy in the oven.

Melt the butter in a small saucepan.  Once melted, remove from the heat and add the cornflour.  Mix to a paste, then pour in the milk.  Whisk to combine, then return to the heat and cook for several minutes, whisking, until the sauce thickens.  Add the mustard and most of the cheese, then mix most of the sauce with the cooked chicken and drained broccoli, reserving a few spoonfuls.  Season with pepper.

Layer with the lasagne sheets in your casserole dish/loaf tin – I made three layers of chicken mix, three layers of lasagne sheets and topped with the reserved sauce.  Scatter over with the very last of the cheese.

Bake for around 30 minutes, until the lasagne sheets are cooked through and everything is piping hot.  Serve with a green salad.

So what meals have you created to use up random odds and ends?  Do you have any favourite store-cupboard recipes?

Leave a Reply

