Curried split pea soup

split pea soup 2

If you’ve been reading for a while, you’ll know that I have soup for lunch most days.  You can’t beat soup (if you have a microwave at work) – it’s easy, healthy and very cheap.

Most of my soups are lentil or bean based because I find them a lot more filling.  I’ve made this split pea soup a couple of times now and really enjoy it – it’s mildly spiced without being too hot, smooth and delicious.  I freeze in individual portions to take to work, but if I was having at home I might dollop a little yoghurt on the top just before serving.

The first time I made this soup I added fresh coriander, and the second time I omitted it, and it was nice both times but the coriander does add a certain something.  Chuck it in if you have some growing but I wouldn’t buy a pack especially to make the soup unless I was feeding guests.

split pea soup 4

Curried split pea soup (serves 4) 14p per lunch-sized portion

  • 225g dried yellow split peas, soaked for a few hours if you have time 22p (49p / 500g, Tesco)
  • 3 small onions, peeled and chopped 10p (49p / kg, Morrisons)
  • 3 small carrots, peeled and chopped 10p (92p / 1.5kg, Tesco)
  • Vegetable or chicken stock, to cover 2p (15p / 10, Tesco)
  • Bay leaf 5p (75p / jar, Morrisons)
  • 2 tsp curry powder (I used hot madras curry powder) 2p (59p /100g, local shop)
  • 1 tsp ground coriander 4p (71p / 34g, Asda
  • 1/2 tbsp vegetable oil 1p (£1.35 / 1ltr, Morrisons)
  • Couple of handfuls fresh coriander, chopped, optional (free from windowsill)

Heat the vegetable oil in a large saucepan and gently cook the onions and carrot for a few minutes until soft and translucent.  Add all the rest of the ingredients, apart from the fresh coriander, and stir, then simmer until the split peas are soft (I leave them for about an hour and a half as I find they take forever, especially if you didn’t soak them!).  Stir every so often, and top up with water – I find split pea soups can tend to burn on the bottom if you aren’t careful.

Add the fresh coriander, if using.  Blitz using a hand blender and season to taste.  Serve with bread, preferably wholemeal as it just seems to go better.

split pea soup 3

Leave a Reply

