A slightly fancier lentil and tomato soup recipe

lentil and tomato soup 2

I didn’t have anything to blog about yesterday, or any time to blog in – I had to work late at an evening event and was fed there!  So I decided to break my ‘no blogging on a Friday’ rule to make up for my absence last night.

You’ve probably noticed by now that I always like a hot lunch at work, making a pot of soup most weekends to take in with a couple of slices of homemade bread.  I’ve posted a recipe for curried tomato and lentil soup before, so this is a twist on it with more expensive lentils and garlic and oregano rather than curry powder.  It’s pretty good – this is the first time I’ve trialled value stock cubes and I have to say I’ll be switching back to Oxo once the pack is done, but apart from that it was fine.  Oh well, for 15p, the stock cubes were worth a shot!

This soup works out to only 20p per portion, though I used a reduced to clear swede – if you paid 50p for a full price one, it’d push the price of the soup up to 29p.  Still a bargain though!  By the way, if you aren’t sure that it’s worth taking your lunch in, consider that the cafe near to my work charges £4 for soup and a sandwich at lunchtime.  Each lunch I spent 20p on soup, 10p on bread, 12p on a banana and 30p on an apple – a grand total of 72p a day.  Taking my lunch in saved me £16.40 this week and got me two extra portions of fruit compared to eating at the cafe.  Over the year I’d save nearly £800 if I did it every week!

lentil and tomato soup 3

Puy lentil and tomato soup (makes five portions)

  • 125g Puy/green-brown lentils* 28p (£1.09 / 500g, Tesco)
  • 2 small onions, chopped 6p (49p / 1kg, Morrisons)
  • 1 tin chopped tomatoes 31p (Tesco)
  • 1 small swede, cut into cubes 5p (bought RTC from Tesco)
  • 2 carrots, diced 14p (79p / 900g Asda, 12 in the bag)
  • 2 cloves garlic 6p (25p / 4 bulbs Morrisons)
  • 1/2 tbsp oregano 5p (95p / 25g, Asda)
  • vegetable or chicken stock, to cover well 2p (15p / 10, Tesco)
  • 1/2 tbsp vegetable oil 2p (£1.45 / 1ltr)

Heat the oil in a large saucepan and gently fry the onions and carrots for a few minutes.  Add the garlic and cook for a further minute, before adding all of the other ingredients to the pan.  Bring to the boil then simmer until everything’s cooked (I left mine on the hob for about an hour) and season to taste.

20p per portion.

lentil and tomato soup

*For some reason I can’t seem to get Puy lentils in any supermarkets anymore except in precooked sachets.  I buy what Tesco labels “lentilles verts” now, I think they’re the same thing really.

Leave a Reply

