Mealplan and spending update 05/05/13 (plus really cheap soup recipe)

I’ve had a productive day today – getting the weekly shopping in from Tesco, making both bread rolls and crusty bread, and making five portions of carrot, lentil and ginger soup for lunches (recipe at the bottom of post).

lentil soup 2

Mealplan

Sun 5th – hot & spicy chicken wings with yoghurt, corn on the cob, salad and crusty bread*

Mon 6th – South Indian dhal with spicy cabbage stir-fry and chapattis

Tues 7th – mushroom & pea pasta with salad

Wed 8thchilli con carne on baked potatoes with salad

Thurs 9th – Nigerian red kidney bean stew with rice and veg

Fri 10th – steak for Dave with peppercorn sauce, trout for me, both with salad and chips

Sat 11th – penne arrabiata with roasted vegetables and garlic bread

* You might notice this was also on last week’s mealplan – we were treated to a meal out by my dad on Saturday so ended up leaving the chicken wings until tonight.

Spending (£101.91 / £185)

We were really good this week and the only thing I bought in between the big shops was the milk – everything else came from my Tesco shop today.

Fruit & veg £12.22
Baking potatoes 2.5kg £2.18
Green cabbage 80p
E'day Value grapes 500g £1.45
E'day Value mixed peppers 4pk £1.41
Corn on the cob 2pk £1.70
E'day Value mushrooms 350g 75p
Bananas x6 84p
Ginger 45g 9p
Courgette 3pk £1
Mixed salad leaves x2 £2 

Meat & fish £3.87
E'day Value ham 400g £1.65
Sirloin steak 185g £2.22

Dairy & eggs £1.74
E'day value natural yoghurt 45p
Whole milk 4pnts £1.29

General £8.71
E'day Value bran flakes 89p
E'day Value kidney beans x2 42p
E'day Value chopped tomatoes 31p
E'day Value passata 29p
E'day Value vegetable stock cubes 15p
Maldon sea salt £1.65
Turmeric powder 100g 99p
Tabasco £1.19
E'day value frozen sweetcorn 98p
Paprika 39g 95p
Walkers crisps x6 89p

Household £5.32
E'day Value washing up liquid 33p
Springforce kitchen rolls 4pk £1.99
Radox bath salts £1
Imperial leather shower gel x2 £2

 Carrot, Lentil and Ginger Soup (serves five)

lentil soup

  • 4 carrots (about 300g), grated in a food processor or by hand 27p (Morrisons 65p /720g)
  • 2 small onions, grated as above 6p (Morrisons 49p / 1kg, 17 in bag)
  • 20g fresh ginger, finely grated 4p (Tesco 9p / 45g)
  • 125g red split lentils 22p (Asda £3.49 / 2kg)
  • Vegetable or chicken stock, to cover generously (I used homemade chicken stock from the freezer which I count as free – even decent stock cubes are only pennies each though)
  • 1/2 tbsp vegetable oil 3p

As noted above, I grate the carrot and onion in a food processor, but you can do it by hand if you haven’t got one.

Heat the oil in a large saucepan and gently fry the onion and carrot over a low heat for a few minutes.  Add the ginger and cook for another minute.  Add the lentils and stock, season and simmer for around 30 minutes, stirring occasionally and adding more water if it’s getting too thick.

An extremely low 13p per portion.  Serve with bread (homemade brown bread 10p for two slices).

photo (70)

3 thoughts on “Mealplan and spending update 05/05/13 (plus really cheap soup recipe)

  1. Two Cheeky Monkeys

    Great soup recipe 🙂 Was looking for another one using lentils. I usually make tomato, lentil and carrot soup but am getting a bit bored of it. Do you find you’re spending more time in the kitchen? I usually make a lot from scratch but since I’ve really been budgeting and making things like bread and soup I find I spend half my life in the kitchen (cooking, then washing up!). Makes it a bit tricky to find time to spend with the children :\

    Reply
    1. Jess Post author

      You’re right that since I’ve started making most things from scratch I am spending a lot more time in the kitchen! It’s easier for me in that I don’t have kids and Dave and I have it organised so that while I do the shopping, cooking and the dishes, he does the laundry and almost all of the other housework, so I’m not finding it too hard to fit in at the moment. I do find it makes life much easier to follow a rough schedule (you might do similar already) i.e.

      Sunday – either get the shopping or wait in for it when it’s a delivery and then clean out the fridge, put away the shopping, make soup, make bread, often I’ll make a meal for later on in the week and I tend to do a treaty meal like a roast or pie or something, so a lot of kitchen time on Sundays, but it means all I need to do is make dinner the rest of the time. I make Dave’s sandwiches for Mon & Tues on Sunday nights, then on Wed he often takes a tin of soup or might buy himself a Greggs, and on Wed night I’ll make the sandwiches for Thurs & Fri.

      Weekdays- I go to the gym after work or occasionally meet friends so I get home late at least 3 nights each week. We have something homemade from the freezer or else plan something quick like stir-fry/mac & cheese on these nights – usually Dave cooks once a week as well.

      Thursday evening or Friday lunchbreak, I do the mealplan and shopping list & order it if it’s to be delivered.

      Fridays, Saturdays – I made the decision not to blog on Friday or Saturday nights to give myself more time at the weekend and as I’m usually out straight after dinner anyway. I like to do something treaty on Fridays that doesn’t take too long, like homemade burgers or pizza (quick when I’ve made the dough in advance).

      Not sure if my rambling will help at all, it must be so much more difficult to fit it all in with kids, unless you can involve them in the cooking?

      Reply
  2. Two Cheeky Monkeys

    Thanks for the tips; that’s very impressive that Dave does the laundry! I usually do that and the household stuff as I’m a stay at home mum at the mo. Luckily Mr N likes cooking and does this several times a week.
    I think it would be useful to have a cooking / baking afternoon at the weekends to stock the freezer up. I find it so much easier to be able to take out a frozen ‘ready made’ meal to use mid-week rather than cook from scratch each time. Sometimes Toddler helps me to bake things like wholemeal scones so that we have something yummy but also a bit healthier than packet stuff to snack on. He’s only two and a half, so it takes quite a lot of patience to do; we usually end up with half the ingredients on the kitchen surfaces rather than in a bowl!
    We do have a weekly meal plan which I find helps a lot with food shopping and knowing what I’m doing that day for lunch / dinner. Running round after a toddler and baby leaves little time and energy to be too spontaneous!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

