Vegetable Enchiladas

enchiladas

I actually made this meal a couple of weeks ago, but since we were having mac and cheese again tonight (without the tuna this time) I thought I’d post about it now.

It’s another one of those meals (like mac & cheese and stirfry) that’s great when you get back late and want something quick.  It’s also pretty healthy and easy to make vegetarian or with meat (it can even be vegan if you use a vegan cheese substitute).

Salsa is one of the only things I buy instead of make – even though homemade salsa is way better – only because Dave is allergic to raw tomatoes but can eat cooked and processed ones.  If you don’t have any such allergies to deal with, feel free to make your own (I do when not cooking for him).  If you are buying it, I find the savers stuff they find in Morrison’s works perfectly well – sometimes I do jazz it up with some spices or lime juice, but didn’t bother this time.

enchiladas 2

Enchiladas (serves two generously or with leftovers for lunch)

  • 2 portions of chilli (I used homemade veggie chilli from the freezer, defrosted)
  • 4 wraps (I make my own)
  • 1 jar salsa, or a similar amount homemade
  • 50-75g cheddar or similar cheese

photo (76)

Preheat the oven to 200C.  Spread half of the salsa in the bottom of a baking dish.  Take the first wrap and put a quarter of the chilli in a line down the middle.  Roll it up and tuck the edges in, and do the same for each of the other three wraps.

photo (98)

Arrange in the baking tray, cover with the other half of the salsa and top with the cheddar.  Bake for around 20 minutes, or until the cheese is melted and starting to brown.  Serve with salad.

I haven’t costed this, because I didn’t cost the chilli when I made it, but it’s a pretty cheap meal.

2 thoughts on “Vegetable Enchiladas

  1. Pingback: Chilli con Carne (a la Dave) | Chilli, Sage and Lemon

  2. Pingback: Making It Yourself – Easy Tomato Salsa | Chilli, Sage and Lemon

Leave a Reply

