A quick and tasty stirfry

photo (82)

When I was a student, I used to eat stirfries a lot, but I was always starving after an hour. That’s because, as a vegetarian, I made the classic mistake of not replacing the meat with anything – noodles and vegetables on their own just aren’t filling!

Now that I do a lot more exercise (it’s not hard to do more than absolutely nothing…) I’m way better at having some sort of protein with all my meals.  I still don’t eat much meat, so when I’m making a vegetarian meal I do always think “where’s the protein coming from?”.

With stirfry, I almost always go for an egg and nut combo.  You might not know this, but I have a weird hatred of egg in almost all its forms, which is why you won’t see it featured on this blog much.  I do however like egg-fried rice or the equivalent with noodles as long as they aren’t too eggy – it’s why I only use one egg between the two of us most of the time.  As for nuts, I used raw unsalted peanuts tonight, but cashews are really my favourite for this kind of thing.

When it comes to vegetables, I’m a newly converted fan of the value stirfry mix they sell in Morrisons – it costs 50p and contains four portions of veg, including beansprouts, which always get wasted if we buy a whole bag of them.  They don’t seem to sell an equivalent in Tesco or Asda and I don’t ever buy the more expensive stirfry mixes – I just cut up whatever veg I have in myself otherwise.  Carrots, peppers, mushrooms, mangetout, cabbage and onions all work well, along with others.

photo (83)

Ginger, chilli and honey stirfry (serves two)

  • 1 bag value stirfry mix, or about 320g of any mix of veg finely sliced up 50p
  • 2 nests of egg noodles 43p
  • 40g raw unskinned peanuts, skinned and roughly chopped 15p
  • 1 egg, beaten 17p
  • A thumb sized piece of ginger, grated 6p
  • 1-2 red chillies, finely chopped 20p
  • 1 1/2 tbsp soy sauce 15p
  • 1 1/2 tbsp honey 9p
  • 1 1/2 tbsp rice vinegar 9p
  • Couple of tsp vegetable oil 4p

Cook the noodles as per the packet directions (mine took about 4 minutes) and drain.

Meanwhile, heat the oil in a large deep-sided frying pan or wok.  Add the veg and chilli and cook for a few minutes until done to your liking (Mr Chilli likes it quite well cooked and not too crunchy).  As it’s cooking, mix the honey, soy sauce and vinegar in a bowl or mug and taste, tweaking the proportions to suit your taste.  I tend to serve soy sauce at the table so go light on it here.

When the veg is nearly cooked to your liking, add the ginger and stir round for 30 seconds or so.  Push all the veg to the sides of the pan, leaving a gap in the middle, and add the beaten egg.  Leave for a few seconds or so, until it begins to set, and stir it to scramble.  It only takes a minute ir two to cook, then stir in the veg, noodles and sauce.

Serve in bowls topped with the chopped peanuts.

97p per portion

One thought on “A quick and tasty stirfry

  1. Pingback: Chinese ‘fake-away’ | Chilli, Sage and Lemon

Leave a Reply

