Birthday cake

photo (80)

Just a quick post tonight as I’m out with friends – thought I’d share with you a birthday cake I made for a colleague.  It’s just a standard sponge cake sandwiched with homemade plum jam and iced with bought icing – normally I make my own buttercream for cakes but I’d bought the icing ages ago on a whim.

photo (79)

Birthday cake

  • 225g butter, at room temperature
  • 225g caster sugar
  • 225g self-raising flour
  • 4 eggs
  • 3/4 small jar jam (I used plum but I do like raspberry in cakes)
  • icing, either bought or homemade

Preheat the oven to 180C and grease two sandwich tins.  Cream the butter and sugar and add one egg at a time, mixing in well.  Sift in the flour and fold in. Split between the two tins and bake for 25 minutes or until a skewer inserted into the middle comes out clean.

Once cooled you can spread with jam, pop one on top of the other and ice – you’ll need to be careful and dust the surface with icing sugar when rolling the icing as I found it liked to stick.  You might want to cut the cakes across to make a flat top before icing if you have a mound in the middle.

photo (81)

Leave a Reply

