Easy Mackerel Pasta

Mr Chilli cooked tonight (Jamie Oliver’s 15 minute chilli con carne meatballs, if you’re curious – they were pretty good), so I thought I’d post about a really quick and delicious meal I came up with a couple of weeks ago.  I was just cooking for myself that night, which is always an excuse to make something I don’t normally get when Mr Chilli’s around.  Since he isn’t a fan of fish, and I had some tinned mackerel I’d bought on a whim in Aldi hanging out in the cupboard, I decided to use that up with some pasta.  There wasn’t much left in the fridge by this point but I did have frozen peas to add to the dish along with some garlic and capers.

Much to my surprise, it turned into easily one of the tastiest things that I’ve invented on the spur of the moment!  I wouldn’t change anything except skipping the parmesan on the top (I don’t feel it needs it), and possibly adding some halved cherry tomatoes at the end if I had any lying around, as it is a bit light on veg.  You could also serve with salad to get round this.

photo (65)

Mackerel and Pea Pasta (serves one)

  • 1 tin mackerel in oil 69p
  • 75g pasta 3p
  • 80g frozen peas 8p
  • 1 tbsp capers, roughly chopped 12p
  • 1 clove garlic, crushed 3p

Cook the pasta in salted water, adding the peas a couple of minutes before the end. Drain when cooked and return the empty pan to a low heat, tipping a little of the mackerel oil in. Add the garlic, cook for 20 seconds and tip in the mackerel and capers, breaking up the fish a bit for another 20 seconds.

Toss through the pasta and season with lots of black pepper.

95p per portion.

3 thoughts on “Easy Mackerel Pasta

  1. spamgu

    Ooh, I’ve got a tin of mackerel in the cupboard that I’ve been wondering what to do with, and this looks nice! Might give it a try!

    Reply
  2. Pingback: Adjusting the meal plan – mackerel and creme fraiche pasta | Chilli, Sage and Lemon

Leave a Reply

